Confederate Forces Department of North Carolina, 19 April 1862

Commanding Officer: Major General T.H.Holmes

1st Brigade: Brigadier General R.Ranson 25th North Carolina Infantry Regiment 26th North Carolina Infantry Regiment 27th North Carolina Infantry Regiment 35th North Carolina Infantry Regiment Battalion, North Carolina 9th North Carolina (1st Cavalry) 19th North Carolina (2nd Cavalry) Evan's North Carolina Troop Grisham's Mississippi Battery Jones' North Carolina Battery 2nd Brigade: Brigadier General L. O'B. Branch 7th North Carolina Infantry Regiment 18th North Carolina Infantry Regiment 28th North Carolina Infantry Regiment 33rd North Carolina Infantry Regiment 37th North Carolina Infantry Regiment North Carolina Battery Bunting's North Carolina Battery Latham's North Carolina Battery 3rd Brigade: Brigadier General J.R.Anderson 45th Georgia Infantry Regiment 49th Georgia Infantry Regiment 3rd Louisiana Battalion 34th North Carolina Infantry Regiment 38th North Carolina Infantry Regiment 1st North Carolina Infantry (Hamilton's) Section, Bouldin's Battery (2 guns) McIntosh's Battery (4 guns) 4th Brigade: Brigadier General J.G.Walker 3rd Arkansas Infantry Regiment 44th Georgia Infantry Regiment 1st North Carolina Infantry Regiment 2nd North Carolina Infantry Regiment 3rd North Carolina Infantry Regiment 30th Virginia Infantry Regiment French's Virginia Battery District of Cape Fear: Brigadier General S.G.French 20th North Carolina Infantry Regiment 30th North Carolina Infantry Regiment 60th Virginia Infantry Regiment 20 Companies of Infantry, Cavalry & Heavy Artillery Garrison of Fort Macon: Colonel M.J.White Unknown

U.S. War Department, The War of the Rebellion, A Compilation of Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies , Government

Printing Office; Washington, D.C., 1882