The Parliamentary Army at the Battle of Edgehill 23 October 1642

The Right Wing, under Lord Feilding

Lord Feilding's Regiment of Horse (6 troops)
The Lord General's Regiment of Horse (7 troops)
Sir William Balfour's Regiment of Horse

Colonel John Browne's Regiment of Dragoons (6 troops)
Colonel James Wardlawe's Regiment of Dragoons (6 troops)

The Centre, under The Earl of Essex (?)

Sir John Meldrum's Tertia:

The Lord Robarte's Regiment of Foot

Sir William Constable's Regiment of Foot

Sir John Meldrum's Regiment of Foot

Sir William Fairfax's Regiment of Foot

Colonel Charles Essex's Tertia:

Colonel Charles Essex' Regiment of Foot

The Lord Wharton's Regiment of Foot

The Lord Mandeville's Regiment of Foot

Sir Henry Cholmley's Regiment of Foot

Colonel Thomas Ballard's Tertia:

The Earl of Essex' Regiment of Foot

Colonel Thomas Ballard's Regiment of Foot

The Lord Brooke's Regiment of Foot (less one company)

Colonel Denzil Holles' Regiment of Foot

The Left Wing, under Commissary-General Sir James Ramsey

Sir William Waller's Regiment of Horse (5 or 6 troops)
Colonel Arthur Goodwin's Regiment of Horse (4 or 5 troops)
Lord St. John's Troop of Horse*
The Earl of Bedford's Troop of Horse*
Joseph Fleming's Troop of Horse*
John Dalbier's Troop of Horse?*
Lord Hasting's Troop of Horse*

Additionally, this wing contained another 8 to 10 unregimented troops of horse which cannot be identified with any certainty.

Young, P., Edgehill, 1642, Kineton 1967

^{*} These troops were probably still unregimented.