The Parliamentary Army under The Earl of Essex re-modelled March-April 1644

The Earl of Essex' Regiment of Horse (8 troops) under the command of Sir Philip Stapleton The Lifeguard Troop, commanded by Sir Philip Stapleton Major-General Philip Skippon's Troop, commanded by Captain-Lieutenant Nicholas Bragge Lieutenant Colonel: Richard Graves Major: Hamilton Captains: Matthew Draper Lionel Copley Nicholas Chute (Jeremiah?) Abercomby Sir William Balfour's Regiment of Horse Major: William Balfour (jnr) Sir Samuel Luke's Troop, commanded by Captain-Lieutenant Thomas Evans Captains: William Rainborough Semple Boswell Colonel Hans Behre's Regiment of Horse (5 troops) Samuel Bosa Major: Captains: Buller Christopher Fleming Carmichael Colonel John Dalbier's Regiment of Horse (5? troops) William Salkeld Captains: Charles Pvm Lukeman Colonel James Sheffield's Regiment of Horse (6 troops) Major?: Thomas Sheffield Captains: Hayle Francis? Fiennes Robert Robotham Wogan Sir Robert Pye's Regiment of Horse (3? troops) Captains: Adrian Scrope Pyle

1

The Earl of Essex' Regiment of Foot (12 companies, 1500 men) Captain-Lieutenant: Thomas Bushall Lieutenant Colonel: John Boteler Major: Matthews Captains: Anthony St. John John Lloyd Henry Gower Anthony Sanderson Hudson Isaac Turvey Warwick Bamfield Phipps Burdett Sergeant-Major-General Philip Skippon's Regiment of Foot (8 coys, 1000 men) Lieutenant Colonel: J(ohn?) Francis Richard Ashfield Major: Captains: Streeter Bowen James Harrison Samuel Clarke John Clarke The Lord Robartes' Regiment of Foot (10? companies, 1200 men) Lieutenant Colonel: William Hunter Major: Alexander Urry Captains: John Mills J(ohn?) Penn Henry Wansey Francis Smith Mark Grymes John Spooner Milson Colonel Henry Barclay's Regiment of Foot (8 companies, 1000 men) Lieutenant Colonel: Thomas Pride Major: Captains: William Goffe John Dorrington George Ramsey Robert Melville George Gregson John Needham Colonel Thomas Tyrell's Regiment of Foot (8 companies, 1000 men) Lieutenant Colonel: Moseley Major: Richard Ingoldsby Captains: Henry Ingoldsby Charles Durkett Francis Bruckenfield Gabriel Cooke Robert Farrington

Colonel Adam Cunningham's Regiment of Foot (8 companies, 1000 men) Lieutenant Colonel: Richard Fortescue Major: Thomas Bulstrode Captains: Edward Gittings Jefferey Richbell Severimus Dursey Humphrey Fownes Richard Lindsey Colonel Edward Aldrich's Regiment of Foot (9 companies, 1100 men) Lieutenant Colonel: Walter Lloyd Jonathon Newcomen Major: Captains: Paul Gettings Loudes William Wilks (or Weekes) Philip Cooper Fleetwood Haines Colonel James Holborne's Regiment of Foot (8 companies, 1000 men) Lieutenant Colonel: George Macaude Major: Archibald Waddell Captains: Benjamin Wigfall Robert Finn John Withers Daniel Carey Thomas Read Colonel Francis Martin's Regiment of Foot (The Garrison of Aylesbury, probably reduced to two or three companies) Davies, G., "The Parliamentary Army under the Earl of Essex, 1642-5", in English Historical Review, 1934 Peachey, S., & Turton, A., Old Robin's Foot, Essex 1987 Calendar of State Papers (Domestic) - various entries