Distribution of the U. S. Cavalry & Infantry January 1866

Regiment	Station
1st Cavalry	Pacific Coast
2nd Cavalry	Kansas, Missouri & Colarado
3rd Cavalry	Arkansas
4th Cavalry	Texas
5th Cavalry	District of Columbia, Maryland, Viginia & North Carolina
6th Cavalry	Texas
1st Infantry	Louisiana
2nd Infantry	Kentucky, Tennessee, Georgia & Alabama
3rd Infantry	Kansas Colorado & Indian Territory
4th Infantry	Michigan & New York
5th Infantry	New Mexico
6th Infantry	South Carolina
7th Infantry	Florida
8th Infantry	The Carolinas
9th Infantry	California & Nevada
10th Infantry	Minnesota & Dakota
12th Infantry	District of Columbia & Virginia
13th Infantry	Montana, Utah & Wyoming
14th Infantry	Arizona
15th Infantry	Alabama
17th Infantry	New York
18th Infantry	Nebraska & Wyoming
19th Infantry	Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi & Indian Territory
20th Infantry	Louisiana & Mississippi
21st Infantry	Virginia
22nd Infantry	Dakota
23rd Infantry	Oregon & Washington

The Adjutant-General's Office, Circular showing the Distribution of the line of the United States Army, January 1, 1866 to June 30 1909, Washington, 1909