Regiments, Battalions, Batteries, &c Serving in Afghanistan 1878, 1879, 1880, 1881

```
British Cavalry:
      6th Dragoon Guards, 1879-1800
      8th Hussars, 1879-1880
9th Lancers, 1879-1880
     10th Hussars, 1878-1879
15th Hussars, 1878-1880
Royal Horse Artillery
      A Brigade:
           D Battery, 1878-1880
           E Battery, 1880
F Battery, 1878-1880
I Battery, 1879-1880
     B Brigade:
           A Battery, 1878-180
            D Battery, 1880
           E Battery, 1880
      C Brigade:
            H Battery, 1879
            I Battery, 1878-1880
Royal Artillery: (Field Batteries)
      1st Brigade:
           H Battery, 1880-1881
           I Battery, 1878-1879
      2nd Brigade:
            C Battery, 1880
           D Battery, 1878-1879
F Battery, 1880-1881
      3rd Brigade:
           C Battery, 1878-1880
E Battery, 1878-1879
G Battery, 1878-1800
      4th Brigade:
           C Battery, 1879-1880
            D Battery, 1879-1880
           E Battery, 1878-1879
            G Battery, 1878-1880
      5th Brigade:
            L Battery, 1879-1880
Royal Artillery (Heavy, Garrison & Siege Batteries)
      8th Brigade:
           No. 1 Battery, 1879-1880
           No. 6 Battery (7pdr jointed screw-guns), 1879-1881
      Siege Train:
            8th Brigade:
                  No. 13 Battery, 1878-1879
                  No. 16 Battery, 1878-1879
            11th Brigade:
                  No. 8 Battery, 1878-1879
```

```
9th Brigade:
            No. 11 Battery, 1878-1880
            No. 12 Battery, 1880
            No. 13 Battery, 1878
            No. 14 Battery, 1880-1881
      11th Brigade:
            No. 5 Battery, 1878-1880
No. 6 Battery, 1879-1880
            No. 10 Battery, 1880
No. 11 Battery, 1878-1880
Gatling Battery, 1879-1880
Native Artillery (Mountain Batteries):
      Punjab Frontier Force Artillery:
            No. 1 (Kohat) Mountain Battery, 1878-1880
            No. 2 (Derajat) Mountain Battery, 1878-1880
            No. 3 (Peshawar) Mountain Battery, 1878-1879
            No. 4 (Hazara) Mountain battery, 1878-1879
No. 5 (Kohat) Mountain Battery, 1879-1881
      Bombay Artillery:
            No. 1 Mountain Battery, 1878-1881
            No. 2 Mountain Battery, 1878-1881
Royal Engineers:
      Bengal Sappers & Miners:
            No. 1 Company, 1878-1880
No. 2 Company, 1878-1880
No. 3 Company, 1878-1880
No. 4 Company, 1878-1880
            No. 5 Company, 1878-1880
            No. 6 Company, 1878-1880
            No. 7 Company, 1878-1880
            No. 8 Company, 1878-1880
No. 9 Company, 1878-1880
            No. 10 Company, 1878-1880
      Madras Sappers & Miners:
            A Company
            B Company
            C Company
            I Company
            K Company
      Bombay Sappers & Miners:
            No. 1 Company
            No. 2 Company
            No. 3 Company
            No. 4 Company
No. 5 Company
British Infantry:
      1/5th Fusiliers, 1878-180
      2/7th Fusiliers, 1880-1881
      2/8th Foot, 1878-1880
2/9th Foot, 1878-1880
      2/11th Foot, 1880-1881
1/12th Foot, 1879-1880
```

```
2/14th Foot, 1880
     2/15th Foot, 1880
     1/17th Foot, 1878-1879
     1/18th Foot, 1880-1881
     1/25th Foot, 1878-1880
     51st Light Infantry, 1878-1880
      59th Foot, 1878-1880
      2/60th Rifles 1878-1880
      63rd Foot 1880-1881
     66th Foot, 1880
67th Foot, 1879
      70th Foot, 1878-1879
     72nd Highlanders, 1878-1880
     78th Highlanders, 1880-1881
     81st Foot, 1878-1879
      85th Foot, 1879-1881
      92nd Highlanders, 1879-1880
      4/Rifle Brigade, 1878-1879
Bengal Cavalry:
     1st Bengal Cavalry, 1878-1880
     3rd Bengal Cavalry, 1879-1880
     4th Bengal Cavalry, 1880
     5th Bengal Cavalry, 1880-1881
     8th Bengal Cavalry, 1878-1880
     10th Bengal Lancers, 1878-1880
     11th Bengal Lancers, 1878-1879
12th Bengal Cavalry, 1878-1880
13th Bengal Lancers, 1878-1880
     14th Bengal Cavalry, 1879-1880
     15th Bengal Cavalry, 1879
     17th Bengal Cavalry, 1879-1880
     18th Bengal Cavalry, 1879-1881
     19th Bengal Lancers, 1878-1880
Bengal Infantry:
     1st Bengal Infantry, 1880
2nd Bengal Light Infantry, 1879
      5th Bengal Light Infantry, 1880
      6th Bengal Light Infantry, 1878-1879
      8th Bengal Infantry, 1879-1880
     9th Bengal Infantry, 1880
     11th Bengal Infantry, 1879-1880
12th (Kalat-i-Gilzai) Regiment, 1878-1879
     13th Bengal Infantry, 1879-1880
     14th (Ferozepore) Sikhs, 1878
15th (Loodianha) Sikhs, 1878-1880
     16th (Lucknow) Regiment, 1879-1881
     19th Punjab Infantry, 1878-1880
     20th Punjab Infantry, 1878-1879
     21st Punjab Infantry, 1878-1880
     22nd Punjab Infantry, 1879-1880
      23rd Punjab Infantry, 1878-1880
     24th Punjab Infantry, 1878-1880
25th Punjab Infantry, 1878-1880
```

```
26th Punjab Infantry, 1878-1879
      27th Punjab Infantry, 1878-1881
      28th Punjab Infantry, 1878-1880
      29th Punjab Infantry, 1878-1880
      30th Punjab Infantry, 1879-1880
     31st Punjab Infantry, 1879-1880
32nd Punjab Pioneers, 1878-1880
39th Punjab Infantry, 1878-1879
41st Punjab Infantry, 1880-1881
45th Rattray's Sikhs, 1878-1880
Gurkha Regiments:
      1st Gurkha Light Infantry, 1878-1880
      2nd Gurkha Regiment, 1878-1880
      3rd Gurkhas (Kamaon Battalion), 1878-1880
      4th Gurkhas, 1878-1880
      5th (Hazara) Gurkhas (Punjab Frontier Force), 1878-1880
Punjab Cavalry (Punjab Frontier Force):
      1st Punjab Cavalry, 1878-1880
      2nd Punjab Cavalry, 1878-1880
      3rd Punjab Cavalry, 1880
      5th Punjab Cavalry
Corps of Guides (Punjab Frontier Force):
      Guides Cavalry, 1878-1880
      Guides Infantry, 1878-1880
Sikh Regiments (Punjab Frontier Force):
      1st Sikh Infantry, 1878-1880
      2nd Sikh Infantry, 1878-1880
      3rd Sikh Infantry, 1878-1880
Punjab Infantry (Punjab Frontier Froce:
      1st Punjab Infantry, 1878-1879
     2nd Punjab Infantry, 1878-1879
4th Punjab Infantry, 1879
5th Punjab Infantry, 1878-1880
Central India Horse:
      1st regiment (wing), 1880
      2nd Regiment (wing), 1880
Native Contingents:
     Bhopal Battalion, 1878-1879
Mhairwarra Battalion, 1878-1879
     Deoli Battalion
Madras Cavalry:
     1st Madras Cavalry, 1880-1881
Madras Infantry:
      1st Madras Infantry, 1879-1880
      4th Madras Infantry, 1879-1880
      15th Madras Infantry, 1879-1880
```

```
21st Madras Infantry, 1879
     30th Madras Infantry, 1878-1880
Bombay Cavalry:
     2nd Bombay Cavalry, 1880
     3rd Bombay Light Cavalry, 1880
     Poona Horse, 1880-1881
     2nd Sind Horse, 1878-1881
3rd Sind Horse, 1878-1880
Bombay Infantry:
     1st Grenadiers, 1878-1880
     4th Bombay Infantry (Rifles), 1880
     5th Bombay Light Infantry, 1880
     8th Bombay Infantry, 1880
     9th Bombay Infantry, 1880
     10th Bombay Light Infantry, 1880
16th Bombay Infantry, 1880-1881
19th Bombay Infantry, 1878-1881
     23rd Bombay Light Infantry, 1880-1881
     24th Bombay Infantry, 1880-1881
     27th (1st Baluch) Bombay Infantry, 1878-1881
     28t Bombay Infantry, 1880-1881
     29th (2nd Baluch) Bombay Infantry, 1878-1881
     30th (Jacob's Rifles) Bombay Infantry, 1878-1880
Contigents of Sikh Feudatory States:
     Patiala:
           Infantry (battalion)
           Cavalry
     Bahawalpur:
           Infantry (wing)
           Cavalry (squadron)
     Jhind:
           Infantry (battalion)
           Cavalry (2 squadrons)
     Nabha:
           Infantry (battalion)
           Cavalry (2 squadrons)
     Kapurthala:
           Infantry 9wing)
           Cavalry (1 squadron)
     Maler Kotla:
           Infantry (2 companies)
           Cavalry (1 troop)
     Faridkot:
           Infantry (2 companies)
           Cavalry (1 troop)
     Nahan:
           Infantry (2 companies)
```

Intelligence Department of The War Office, Official History of the 2nd Afghan War, 1878-1880, London, 1908, Appendix 39 Copyright GFN 1994.