## Stations of British Troops in India 3 March 1883

Returned

Depot Year Went to From Year Regiment Station Meerut Canterbury 1879 Natal Sealkote Canterbury 1877 Bengal 1st (King's) Dragoon Guards Sealkote Canterbury 1877 Bengal States (King's Royal Irish) Hussars Rawul Pindee Canterbury 1878 Bengal 10th (Queen's Royal) Lancers Umballa Canterbury 1875 Bengal 10th (Prince of Wales's Own Royal) Hussars Lucknow Canterbury 1873 Bengal 12th (Prince of Wales's Royal) Lancers Bangalore Canterbury 1877 Madras 13th Hussars Canterbury 1874 Bengal 14th (King's) Hussars Secunderabad Canterbury 1876 Bengal 17th (Duke of Cambridge's Own) Lancers Mhow Canterbury 1879 Natal 2nd Queen's (Royal West Surrey) 2nd Bn Peshawur Guildford 1877 Bombay 4th King's Own (Royal Lancaster) 2nd Bn Bombay Lancaster 1878 Cape 5th Northumberland Fusiliers 2nd Bn Agra Berwick 1880 Bengal 7th Royal Fusiliers (City of London) 2nd Bn Bellary Hounslow 1873 Bombay 8th King's (Liverpool) 2nd Bn Morar Yarmouth 1874 Bengal 10th Lincolnshire 2nd Bn Morar Yarmouth 1874 Bengal 10th Lincolnshire 2nd Bn Seetapore Lincoln 1878 Malta 11th Devonshire 2nd Bn Seetapore Lincoln 1878 Bombay 12th Suffolk 1st Bn Fyzabad Bury St E 1854 Bengal 13th P Albert's (Somersetshire L.I.) 2nd Bn Kamptee Taunton 1877 Malta 14th P of Wales's Own (W Yorkshire) 2nd Bn Nowshera York 1878 Bengal 15th East Yorkshire 2nd Bn Jubbulpore Leicester 1876 Bengal 17th Leicestershire 2nd Bn Leicester 1878 Bengal 18th East Yorkshire 2nd Bn Leicester 1878 Bengal 18th E 6th Dragoon Guards (Carabiniers) Leicester 1876 Bengal Clonmel 1872 Malta Jubbulpore 17th Leicestershire 2nd Bn Jubbulpore Leicester 1876 Bengal
Rawul Pindee Clonmel 1872 Malta
Mhow Bury 1881 Bombay
Secunderabad Ayr 1879 Natal
Peshawur Chester 1873 Bengal
Bengal Wrexham 1880 Bengal
Secunderabad Brecon 1878 Cape
Umballa Berwick 1875 Bengal
Cawppore Hamilton 1878 Cape 18th Royal Irish 1st Bn 20th Lancashire Fusiliers 2nd Bn 21st Royal Scots Fusiliers 2nd Bn 22nd Cheshire 2nd Bn 23rd Royal Welsh Fusiliers 1st Bn 24th South Wales Borderers 2nd Bn 25th King's Own Borderers 1st Bn 90th Cameronians (Scottish Rifles) 2nd Bn Cawnpore Hamilton 1878 Cape 61st Gloucestershire 2nd Bn Quetta Bristol 1878 Malta Nusseerabad Worcester 1879 Bombay 29th Worcestershire 1st Bn Mean Meer Burnley 1880 Bengal Dinapore Kingston 1871 Bengal Noweshera Halifax 1875 Madras Agra Carlisle 1875 Bengal 30th East Lancashire 1st Bn 70th East Surrey 2nd Bn 33rd Duke of Wellington's (W Riding) 1st Bn Agra Carlisle 1875 Bengal
Cannanore Gosport 1872 Burmah
Roorkee Dorchester 1871 Bengal
Peshawur Warrington 1872 Bengal
Bangalore Oxford 1872 Madras 34th Border 1st Bn 67th Hampshire 2nd Bn 54th Dorsetshire 2nd Bn 40th P of Wales's Vols (S. Lancs) 1st Bn 43rd Oxfordshire Light Infantry 1st Bn 44th Essex 1st Bn Ft St George Warley 1871 Madras 95th Sherwood Foresters (Derbyshire) 2nd Bn Lucknow Derby 1881 Gib 81st Loyal North Lancashire 2nd Bn Allahabad Preston 1870 Gib 51st King's Own L I (S Yorkshire) 1st Bn Bareilly Pontefract 1872 Bengal 60th King's Royal Rifle Corps 4th Bn Ferozepore Winchester 1876 Bengal 99th Duke of Edinburgh's (Wiltshire) 2nd Bn Rawul Pindee Devizes 1878 Cape 96th Manchester 2nd Bn Mooltan Ashton 1881 Malta 98th P of Wales's (N Staffordshire) 2nd Bn Kurrachee Lichfield 1873 Bar'oes 68th Durham Light Infantry 1st Bn Meerut Sunderland 1872 Bombay

				Returned
Regiment	Station	Depot	Year	Went to From Year
78th S'forth H'Landers (R-shire Buffs) 2nd	Bn Lucknow	Ft George	1879	Poona
89th P Victoria's (Royal Irish Fus) 2nd Bn	Belgaum	Armagh	1870	Madras
88th Connaught Rangers 1st Bn	Mooltan	Galway	1877	Cape
100th P of Wales's Leinster (Royal Can)1st	Bn Umballa	Birr	1877	Bengal
102nd Royal Dublin Fusiliers) 1st Bn	Ceylon	Naas	1876	Gib
Rifle Brigade (Prince Consort's Own) 1st Br	n Ahmednuggur	Winchester	1880	Madras
Rifle Brigade (Prince Consort's Own) 4th Br	n Jhansi	Winchester	1873	Bengal
Royal Horse Artillery				
A Brigade				
D Battery Ra	awul Pindee			
E Battery Me	eerut			
F Battery Ur	mballa			
G Battery Me	eerut			

L Battery
B Brigade

B Brigade
D Battery
E Battery
K Battery
M Battery
N Battery

Kirkee Bangalore Umballa Secunderabad Lucknow

Sealkote

## Field Artillery

1st Brigade	
B Battery	Ferozepore
G Battery	Benares
H Battery	Jullundur
I Battery	Ahmedabad
L Battery	Secunderabad
M Battery	Kurrachee
N Battery	Hyderabad
O Battery	Kamptee
P Battery	Secunderabad
Q Battery	Bangalore
R Battery	Bellary
S Battery	Bangalore

2nd Brigade

A Battery
B Battery
C Battery
D Battery
E Battery
F Battery
G Battery
J Battery
M Battery
R Battery

Kirkee Nemuch Ahmednuggur Kirkee Kurrachee Deesa Belgaum Allahabad

St. Thomas Mount

Peshawur

 Regiment
 Station
 Depot
 Year
 Went
 to
 From
 Year

3rd Brigade I Battery Bangalore L Battery Dinapore M Battery Meerut N Battery Cawnpore O Battery Agra P Battery Meen Meer Q Battery Saugor R Battery Fyzabad

4th Brigade

A Battery Mhow

B Battery
C Battery
D Battery
E Battery
Battery
F Battery
G Battery
D Battery
Morar
G Battery
D Battery
Morar
Meerut
D Battery
D Battery
Merut
D Battery
D Battery
D Battery

Garrison Artillery

No. 1 Northern Division

7th Battery Rawul Pindee

8th Battery Attock

9th Battery Rawul Pindee

No. 2 Lancashire Division

4th Battery Ferozepore 5th Battery Lahore

No. 3 Eastern Division

5th Battery Ceylon
6th Battery Ceylon
8th Battery Kyra Gully

No. 4 Cinque Ports Division

7th Battery Quetta 8th Battery Bombay 9th Battery Poona

No. 5 London Division

8th Battery Delhi

No. 6 Southern Division

5th Battery Govindghur 6th Battery Allahabad 7th Battery Peshawur

No. 7 Western Division

5th Battery Gwalior 6th Battery Morar

Returned

No. 8 Scottish Division

9th Battery Bombay

No. 9 Welsh Division

4th Battery Secunderabad St. Thomas Mount

No. 10 North Irish Division

5th Battery Mhow

No. 11 South Irish Division

5th Battery Umballa 6th Battery RAwul Pindee

The Army and Navy Gazette, Supplement, 1883

Copyright GFN 1994.