## Stations of British Troops in India 2 February 1884

1 . (-1 1 ) -			1000			
1st (King's) Dragoon Guards	Rawul Pindee	Canterbury		Natal		
6th Dragoon Guards (Carabiniers)	Sealkote	Canterbury	1877	Bengal		
7th (Princess Royal's) Dragoon Guards	Mhow		1882	Egypt	Egypt	1883
8th (King's Royal Irish) Hussars	Rawul Pindee	Canterbury	1878	Bengal		
9th (Queen's Royal) Lancers	Umballa	Canterbury	1875	Bengal		
12th (Prince of Wales's Royal) Lancers	Bangalore	Canterbury	1877	Madras		
13th Hussars	Meerut	Canterbury	1874	Bengal		
14th (King's) Hussars	Secunderabad	Canterbury	1876	Bengal		
17th (Duke of Cambridge's Own) Lancers	Mhow	Canterbury		Natal		
2nd Queen's (Royal West Surrey) 2nd Bn	Subathu	Guildford	1877	Bombay		
4th King's Own (Royal Lancaster) 2nd Bn	Bombay	Lancaster	1878	Cape		
5th Northumberland Fusiliers 2nd Bn	Meerut	Newcastle	1880	Bengal		
7th Royal Fusiliers (City of London) 2nd Bn	Bellary	Hounslow	1873	Bombay		
8th King's (Liverpool) 2nd Bn	Rhaniket	Warrington		Bengal		
9th Norfolk 2nd Bn	Morar	Yarmouth	1874	Bengal		
10th Lincolnshire 2nd Bn	Seetapore	Lincoln	1878	Malta		
11th Devonshire 2nd Bn	Jullundur	Exeter	1877	Bombay		
12th Suffolk 1st Bn			1854	_		
	Fyzabad	Bury St E	1877	Bengal Malta		
13th P Albert's (Somersetshire L.I.) 2nd Bn	Kamptee	Taunton				
14th P of Wales's Own (W Yorkshire) 2nd Bn	Sealkote	York	1878	Bengal		
15th East Yorkshire 2nd Bn	Poona	Beverley	1873	_		
17th Leicestershire 2nd Bn	Jubbulpore	Leicester	1876	Bengal		
18th Royal Irish 1st Bn	Kuldunnah	Clonmel	1872			
20th Lancashire Fusiliers 2nd Bn	Mhow	Bury	1881	Bombay		
21st Royal Scots Fusiliers 2nd Bn	Secunderabad	-	1879			
22nd Cheshire 2nd Bn	Cherat	Chester	1873	Bengal		
23rd Royal Welsh Fusiliers 1st Bn	Dum Dum	Wrexham	1880	Bengal		
24th South Wales Borderers 2nd Bn	Secunderabad		1878	Cape		
25th King's Own Borderers 1st Bn	Dugshai	Berwick	1875	Bengal		
90th Cameronians (Scottish Rifles) 2nd Bn	Cawnpore	Hamilton	1878	Cape		
61st Gloucestershire 2nd Bn	Kurrachee	Bristol	1878			
29th Worcestershire 1st Bn	Nusseerabad	Worcester	1879	Bombay		
30th East Lancashire 1st Bn	Mean Meer	Burnley	1880	Bengal		
70th East Surrey 2nd Bn	Dinapore	Kingston	1871	Bengal		
33rd Duke of Wellington's (W Riding) 1st Bn	Noweshera	Halifax	1875	Madras		
34th Border 1st Bn	Agra	Carlisle	1875	Bengal		
67th Hampshire 2nd Bn	Cannanore	Gosport	1872	Burmah		
54th Dorsetshire 2nd Bn	Roorkee	Dorchester	1871	Bengal		
40th P of Wales's Vols (S. Lancs) 1st Bn	Peshawur	Warrington	1872	Bengal		
43rd Oxfordshire Light Infantry 1st Bn	Bangalore	Oxford	1872	Madras		
44th Essex 1st Bn	Ft St George	Warley	1871	Madras		
95th Sherwood Foresters (Derbyshire) 2nd Bn	Lucknow	Derby	1881	Gib		
51st King's Own L I (S Yorkshire) 1st Bn	Bareilly	Pontefract	1872	Bengal		
60th King's Royal Rifle Corps 4th Bn	Ferozepore	Winchester	1876	Bengal		
99th Duke of Edinburgh's (Wiltshire) 2nd Bn	Rawul Pindee	Devizes	1878	Cape		
96th Manchester 2nd Bn	Mooltan	Ashton	1881	Malta		
98th P of Wales's (N Staffordshire) 2nd Bn	Quetta	Lichfield	1873			
68th Durham Light Infantry 1st Bn	Meerut	Sunderland				
78th S'forth H'Landers (R-shire Buffs) 2nd Br		Ft George	1879	Poona		
87th P Victoria's (Royal Irish Fus) 1st Bn	Rawul Pindee	Armagh	1883	Bengal		
				9 ~ -		

						,
						urned
Regiment		<u>Station</u>	Depot	Year	Went to Fro	m <u>Year</u>
89th P Victoria's (Royal Irish Fus) 2nd	Bn	Belgaum	Armagh	1870	Madras	
88th Connaught Rangers 1st Bn		Ranikhet	Galway	1877	Cape	
100th P of Wales's Leinster (Royal Can)1	st Bn	Solon	Birr	1877	Bengal	
102nd Royal Dublin Fusiliers) 1st Bn		Ceylon	Naas	1876	Gib	
Rifle Brigade (Prince Consort's Own) 1st	Bn	Ahmednuggur	Winchester	1880	Madras	
Rifle Brigade (Prince Consort's Own) 4th		Jhansi	Winchester	1873	Bengal	
					- 5-	
Royal Horse Artillery						
A Brigade						
D Battery	Pawn	l Pindee				
-	Meerut					
E Battery						
F Battery	Umballa					
G Battery	Meerut					
L Battery	Sealkote					
B Brigade						
D Battery	Kirkee					
E Battery	Bangalore					
K Battery	Umballa					
M Battery	Secunderabad					
N Battery	Lucknow					
Field Artillery						
rield Altillery						
1st Brigade						
A Battery	Dina	pore				
B Battery	Ferozepore					
D Battery	Secunderabad					
E Battery	Kirkee					
F Battery	Kirk	ee				
G Battery	Bena	res				
I Battery	Ahme	dabad				
L Battery	Secu	nderabad				
M Battery	Nuss	eerabad				
N Battery	Hyde	rabad				
O Battery	Kamp					
P Battery	-	nderabad				
Q Battery		Thomas Mount				
R Battery	Bellary					
S Battery	Bangalore					
o baccery	Daily	arore				
2nd Brigade						
A Battery	Kirk					
B Battery	Nemu					
C Pattonii	7 hmo	dnuggur				

Kirkee

Deesa

Belgaum

Kurrachee

Allahabad

Peshawur

St. Thomas Mount

Ahmednuggur

C Battery

D Battery

E Battery

F Battery

G Battery

J Battery

M Battery

R Battery

 Regiment
 Station
 Depot
 Year
 Went
 to
 From
 Year

3rd Brigade I Battery Bangalore L Battery Dinapore M Battery Meerut N Battery Mean Meer O Battery Agra P Battery Meen Meer Q Battery Saugor R Battery Fyzabad

4th Brigade

A Battery Mhow

Rawul Pindee B Battery C Battery Mean Meer D Battery Lucknow E Battery Bareilly F Battery Morar G Battery Meerut L Battery Mooltan O Battery Barrackpore

Garrison Artillery

No. 1 Northern Division

7th Battery Kyra Gully 8th Battery Campbellpore 9th Battery Kalabagh

No. 2 Lancashire Division

4th Battery Ferozepore 5th Battery Lahore

No. 3 Eastern Division

5th Battery Ceylon 6th Battery Ceylon 8th Battery Baragully

No. 4 Cinque Ports Division

7th Battery Quetta
8th Battery Bombay
9th Battery Khandalla

No. 5 London Division

8th Battery Delhi

No. 6 Southern Division

5th Battery Agra
6th Battery Allahabad
7th Battery Campbellpore

No. 7 Western Division

5th Battery Gwalior 6th Battery Morar

Regiment Station Depot Year Went to From Year

No. 8 Scottish Division

2nd Battery Murree Hills

3rd Battery Calcutta

9th Battery Bombay

No. 9 Welsh Division

4th Battery Secunderabad 5th Battery St. Thomas Mount

No. 10 North Irish Division

5th Battery Mhow

No. 11 South Irish Division

5th Battery Jutogh

The Army and Navy Gazette, Supplement, 1884

Copyright GFN 1994.