Stations of British Troops in India 27 August 1898

| Regiment | <u>Station</u> |
|--|--------------------------|
| 4th Dragoon Guards | Rawul Pindee |
| 5th Dragoon Guards | Meerut |
| 4th Hussars | Bangalore |
| 9th Lancers | Muttra |
| 11th Hussars | Sealkote |
| 16th Hussars | Umballa |
| 18th Hussars | Lucknow |
| 19th Hussars | Secunderabad |
| 20th Hussars | Mhow |
| Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders (91st and 93rd) 2nd Bn | Ranikhet |
| Bedfordshire Regiment (16th) 1st Bn | Mean Meer |
| Border Regiment (34th-55th) 2nd Bn | Quetta |
| Cameronians (Scottish Rifles) (26th-90th) 1st Bn | Lucknow |
| Cheshire Regiment (22nd) 1st Bn | Secunderabad |
| Connaught Rangers (88th-94th) 2nd Bn | Meerut |
| Devonshire Regiment (11th) 1st Bn | Jullundur |
| Dorsetshire Regiment (39th-54th) 1st Bn | Peshawur |
| Duke of Cornwall's Light Infantry (32nd-46th) 1st Bn | Bengal |
| Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment) (33rd-76th) 2nd Bn | Bangalore |
| Durham Light Infantry (68th-106th) 2nd Bn | Poona |
| East Lancashire Regiment (30th-59th) 2nd Bn | Ranikhet |
| East Surrey Regiment (31st-70th) 1st Bn | Jhansi |
| East Yorkshire Regiment (15th) 1st Bn | Belgaum |
| Gloucestershire Regiment (28th-61st) 1st Bn | Ft William |
| Gordon Highlanders (75th-92nd) 1st Bn | Rawul Pindee |
| Hampshire Regiment (37th-67th) 1st Bn | Mooltan |
| Highland Light Infantry (71st-74th) 2nd Bn | Kurrachee |
| King's (Shropshire Light Infantry) (52rd-85th) 1st Bn | Bombay |
| King's Own L.I. (51st-105th) 2nd Bn | Ahmednuggur |
| King's Own Scottish Borderers (25th) 2nd Bn | Cawnpore |
| Loyal North Lancashire Regiment (47th-81st) 1st Bn | Ceylon |
| Norfolk Regiment (9th) 1st Bn | Allahabad |
| North Staffordshire Regiment (64th-98th) 1st Bn | Subathu |
| Northamptonshire Regiment (48th-58th) 1st Bn | Peshawur |
| Oxfordshire Light Infantry (43rd-52nd) 2nd Bn | Khyber F F Dum Dum |
| Queen's Own (Royal West Kent Regiment) (50th-97th) 1st Bn | שמת שמוו |
| Rifle Brigade Roval Fusiliers (7th) 1st Bn | Nuggoonahad |
| -1 | Nusseerabad |
| Royal Inniskilling Fusiliers (28th-108th) 2nd Bn Royal Irish Regiment (18th) 2nd Bn | Peshawur Rawul Pindee |
| Royal Irish Rifles (83rd-86th) 2nd Bn | Poona |
| Royal Munster Fusiliers (101st-104th) 2nd Bn | Dinapore |
| Royal Scots Fusiliers (21st) 1st Bn | Sealkote |
| Royal Sussex Regiment (35th-107th) 2nd Bn | Khyber F F |
| Sherwood Foresters (Derbyshire Regiment) (45th-95th) 2nd Bn | Bareilly |
| Somersetshire Light Infantry (13th) 1st Bn | Kuldunnah |
| South Lancashire Regiment (40th-82nd) 2nd Bn | Jubbulpore |
| South Wales Borderers (24th) 1st Bn | Chakrata |
| The Black Watch (Royal Highlanders) (42nd-73rd) 1st Bn | Sitapur |
| The Buffs (East Kent Regiment) (3rd) 1st Bn | Kamptee |
| | |

Regiment

Welsh Regiment (41st-69th) 2nd Bn
Wiltshire Regiment (62nd-99th) 1st Bn
York and Lancaster Regiment (65th-84th) 2nd Bn
Yorkshire Regiment (19th) 2nd Bn

Station Bellary Quetta Agra Jullundur

Regiment

Royal Horse Artillery

A Battery
B Battery
C Battery
F Battery
H Battery
I Battery
J Battery
K Battery
L Battery

Station

Umballa
Lucknow
Meerut
Sealkote
Meerut
Mhow
Bangalore
Rawul Pindee
Kirkee
Umballa
Trimulgherry

Field Artillery

N Battery

S Battery

1st Battery 3rd Battery 6th Battery 10th Battery 11th Battery 15th Battery 16th Battery 21st Battery 22nd Battery 23rd Battery 24th Battery 25th Battery 26th Battery 27th Battery 29th Battery 30th Battery 31st Battery 33rd Battery 34th Battery 35th Battery 36th Battery 40th Battery 41st Battery 42nd Battery 45th Battery 46th Battery 47th Battery 48th Battery 49th Battery 50th Battery 51st Battery 52nd Battery

Kirkee
Kohat
Dinapore
Rawul Pindee
Ferozepore
Meerut
Kirkee
Bangalore
Mhow

Secunderabad

Agra
Bangalore
Kamptee
Nusseerabad
Kirkee
Fyzabad
Hyderabad

St. Thomas Mount

Ahmedabad Kurrachee Neemuch Ahmednugger Lucknow Trimulgherry St. Thomas Mount Cawnpore

Mean Meer
Barrackpore
Belgaum
Jullundur
Peshawur
Jubbulpore

53rd Battery Deesa 54th Battery Meerut 55th Battery Saugor 57th Battery Peshawur 59th Battery Nowgong 60th Battery Allahabad 70th Battery Bareilly 71st Battery Mooltan 72nd Battery Bellary 80th Battery Jhansi

Mountain Artillery

1st Battery Rawul Pindee 2nd Battery Quetta 3rd Battery Khyber Field Force Rawul Pindee 5th Battery Darjeeling 6th Battery 7th Battery Rawul Pindee Tirah Field Force 8th Battery 9th Battery Jutogh

Garrison Artillery

Eastern Division

1st Company Calcutta
4th Company Kurrachee
8th Company Delhi
9th Company Allahabad
12th Company Mooltan
24th Company Bombay

Southern Division

5th Company Agra 6th Company Ceylon 9th Company Roorkee 18th Company Ferozepore 23rd Company Quetta 24th Company Campbellpore 28th Company Bombay 33rd Company Attock 37th Company Ceylon

Western Division

4th Company Roorkee 5th Company Rawul Pindee 7th Company Trimulgherry 9th Company Jhansi 11th Company Fort St. George 16th Company Barrackpore 18th Company Bombay 25th Company Quetta

Royal Engineers

41st Company (Fortress) H Company

HQ + Coy at Ceylon Army Headquarters, India

Local Companies Abroad

Ceylon (Submarine)

Trincomalee

3rd Bn

Solon

The Army and Navy Gazette, Supplement, 1898

Copyright GFN 1994.