## Stations of British Troops in India 22 October 1898

Regiment Station 4th Dragoon Guards Rawul Pindee 5th Dragoon Guards Meerut 3rd Hussars Lucknow 4th Hussars Bangalore 9th Lancers Muttra 11th Hussars Sealkote Umballa 16th Hussars 19th Hussars Secunderabad 20th Hussars Mhow Station Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders (91st and 93rd) 2nd Bn Ranikhet Bedfordshire Regiment (16th) 1st Bn Mean Meer Border Regiment (34th-55th) 2nd Bn Quetta Cameronians (Scottish Rifles) (26th-90th) 1st Bn Lucknow Cheshire Regiment (22nd) 1st Bn Secunderabad Connaught Rangers (88th-94th) 2nd Bn Meerut Devonshire Regiment (11th) 1st Bn Jullundur Dorsetshire Regiment (39th-54th) 1st Bn Cherat Duke of Cornwall's Light Infantry (32nd-46th) 1st Bn Lucknow Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment) (33rd-76th) 2nd Bn Bangalore Durham Light Infantry (68th-106th) 2nd Bn Poona East Lancashire Regiment (30th-59th) 2nd Bn Ranikhet East Surrey Regiment (31st-70th) 1st Bn Jhansi East Yorkshire Regiment (15th) 1st Bn Belgaum Gloucestershire Regiment (28th-61st) 1st Bn Ft William Gordon Highlanders (75th-92nd) 2nd Bn Umballa Hampshire Regiment (37th-67th) 1st Bn Khvber F F Highland Light Infantry (71st-74th) 2nd Bn Kurrachee King's (Shropshire Light Infantry) (52rd-85th) 1st Bn Bombay King's Own L.I. (51st-105th) 2nd Bn Ahmednuggur King's Own Scottish Borderers (25th) 2nd Bn Cawnpore Lincolnshire Regiment (10th) 1st Bn Secunderabad Loyal North Lancashire Regiment (47th-81st) 1st Bn Ceylon Norfolk Regiment (9th) 1st Bn Allahabad North Staffordshire Regiment (64th-98th) 1st Bn Subathu Northamptonshire Regiment (48th-58th) 1st Bn Fyzabad Oxfordshire Light Infantry (43rd-52nd) 2nd Bn Mean Meer Queen's (Royal West Surrey Regiment (2nd) 1st Bn Thebba Queen's Own (Royal West Kent Regiment) (50th-97th) 1st Bn Dum Dum Rifle Brigade 3rd Bn Rawul Pindee Royal Fusiliers (7th) 1st Bn Nusseerabad Royal Inniskilling Fusiliers (28th-108th) 2nd Bn Peshawur Royal Irish Regiment (18th) 2nd Bn Mhow Royal Irish Rifles (83rd-86th) 2nd Bn Poona Royal Munster Fusiliers (101st-104th) 2nd Bn Dinapore Royal Scots Fusiliers (21st) 1st Bn Khyber F F Royal Sussex Regiment (35th-107th) 2nd Bn Sealkote Bellary Royal Warwickshire Regiment (6th) 1st Bn Sherwood Foresters (Derbyshire Regiment) (45th-95th) 2nd Bn Bareilly

Kuldunnah

Somersetshire Light Infantry (13th) 1st Bn

South Lancashire Regiment (40th-82nd) 2nd Bn

South Wales Borderers (24th) 1st Bn

The Black Watch (Royal Highlanders) (42nd-73rd) 1st Bn

The Buffs (East Kent Regiment) (3rd) 1st Bn

Welsh Regiment (41st-69th) 2nd Bn Wiltshire Regiment (62nd-99th) 1st Bn

York and Lancaster Regiment (65th-84th) 2nd Bn

Yorkshire Regiment (19th) 2nd Bn

Regiment Station

Royal Horse Artillery

Umballa A Battery B Battery Lucknow

C Battery Meerut D Battery Umballa Sealkote F Battery H Battery Meerut

Mhow I Battery J Battery Bangalore Rawul Pindee K Battery

L Battery Kirkee N Battery Umballa S Battery Trimulgherry

Field Artillery

1st Battery Kirkee Mean Meer 3rd Battery 6th Battery Dinapore 10th Battery Rawul Pindee

11th Battery Ferozepore 15th Battery Meerut 16th Battery Kirkee 21st Battery Bangalore

22nd Battery Mhow

Secunderabad 23rd Battery 24th Battery Agra

25th Battery Bangalore 26th Battery Kamptee 27th Battery Nusseerabad

29th Battery Kirkee 30th Battery Fyzabad 31st Battery Hyderabad

33rd Battery St. Thomas Mount

34th Battery Ahmedabad 35th Battery Kurrachee 36th Battery Neemuch 40th Battery Ahmednugger Lucknow 41st Battery

42nd Battery Trimulgherry 45th Battery St. Thomas Mount

46th Battery Cawnpore 47th Battery Mean Meer 48th Battery Barrackpore

Jubbulpore Chakrata Sitapur Kamptee Bellary Quetta Agra Peshawur

49th Battery Belgaum 50th Battery Jullundur 51st Battery Peshawur 52nd Battery Jubbulpore 53rd Battery Deesa 54th Battery Meerut 55th Battery Saugor 57th Battery Campbellpore 59th Battery Nowgong 60th Battery Allahabad 70th Battery Bareilly 71st Battery Mooltan Bellary 72nd Battery 80th Battery Jhansi

## Mountain Artillery

1st Battery Rawul Pindee 2nd Battery Quetta 3rd Battery Khyber Field Force Baragully 5th Battery 6th Battery Mandalay Kalabagh 7th Battery 8th Battery Jutogh 9th Battery Darjeeling

## Garrison Artillery

Eastern Division

1st Company Calcutta
4th Company Kurrachee
8th Company Delhi
9th Company Allahabad
12th Company Mooltan
24th Company Bombay

## Southern Division

5th Company Agra
6th Company Ceylon
9th Company Roorkee
11th Company Roorkee
18th Company Ferozepore
19th Company Malta
20th Company Fort Fareham

21st Company Aden
22nd Company Jamaica
23rd Company Quetta
24th Company Campbellpore
28th Company Bombay

28th CompanyBombay29th CompanyBarrackpore33rd CompanyAttock37th CompanyCeylon

Western Division

4th Company Roorkee

5th Company
7th Company
9th Company
11th Company
16th Company
18th Company
25th Company

Trimulgherry Jhansi Fort St. George Barrackpore Bombay Quetta

Thebba

Royal Engineers

41st Company (Fortress) H Company HQ + Coy at Ceylon Army Headquarters, India

Local Companies Abroad

The Army and Navy Gazette, Supplement, 1898 Copyright GFN 1994.