## Stations of British Troops in India 17 December 1898

Regiment	Station
4th Dragoon Guards	Rawul Pindee
5th Dragoon Guards	Meerut
3rd Hussars	Lucknow
4th Hussars	Bangalore
9th Lancers	Muttra
11th Hussars	Sealkote
16th Hussars	Umballa
19th Hussars	Secunderabad
20th Hussars	Mhow
Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders (91st and 93rd) 2nd Bn	Ranikhet
Bedfordshire Regiment (16th) 1st Bn	Mean Meer
Border Regiment (34th-55th) 2nd Bn	Quetta
Cameronians (Scottish Rifles) (26th-90th) 1st Bn	Lucknow
Cheshire Regiment (22nd) 1st Bn	Secunderabad
Connaught Rangers (88th-94th) 2nd Bn	Meerut
Devonshire Regiment (11th) 1st Bn	Jullundur
Dorsetshire Regiment (39th-54th) 1st Bn	Cherat
Duke of Cornwall's Light Infantry (32nd-46th) 1st Bn	Lucknow
Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment) (33rd-76th) 2nd Bn	Bangalore
Durham Light Infantry (68th-106th) 2nd Bn	Poona
East Lancashire Regiment (30th-59th) 2nd Bn	Ranikhet
East Surrey Regiment (31st-70th) 1st Bn	Jhansi
East Yorkshire Regiment (15th) 1st Bn	Belgaum
Gloucestershire Regiment (28th-61st) 1st Bn	Ft William
Gordon Highlanders (75th-92nd) 2nd Bn	RAwul Pindee
Hampshire Regiment (37th-67th) 1st Bn	Lundi Kotal
Highland Light Infantry (71st-74th) 2nd Bn	Ceylon
King's (Shropshire Light Infantry) (52rd-85th) 1st Bn	Bombay
King's Own L.I. (51st-105th) 2nd Bn	Ahmednuggur
King's Own Scottish Borderers (25th) 2nd Bn	Cawnpore Secunderabad
Lincolnshire Regiment (10th) 1st Bn	
Loyal North Lancashire Regiment (47th-81st) 1st Bn Norfolk Regiment (9th) 1st Bn	Ceylon Allahabad
North Staffordshire Regiment (64th-98th) 1st Bn	Subathu
Northamptonshire Regiment (48th-58th) 1st Bn	Fyzabad
Oxfordshire Light Infantry (43rd-52nd) 2nd Bn	Mean Meer
Queen's (Royal West Surrey Regiment (2nd) 1st Bn	Thebba
Queen's Own (Royal West Kent Regiment) (50th-97th) 1st Bn	Dum Dum
Rifle Brigade 3rd Bn	Rawul Pindee
Royal Fusiliers (7th) 1st Bn	Nusseerabad
Royal Inniskilling Fusiliers (28th-108th) 2nd Bn	Peshawur
Royal Irish Regiment (18th) 2nd Bn	Mhow
Royal Irish Rifles (83rd-86th) 2nd Bn	Poona
Royal Munster Fusiliers (101st-104th) 2nd Bn	Dinapore
Royal Scots Fusiliers (21st) 1st Bn	Lindi Kotal
Royal Sussex Regiment (35th-107th) 2nd Bn	Sealkote
Royal Warwickshire Regiment (6th) 1st Bn	Bellary
Somersetshire Light Infantry (13th) 1st Bn	Kuldunnah
South Lancashire Regiment (40th-82nd) 2nd Bn	Kamptee
South Wales Borderers (24th) 1st Bn	Chakrata
The Black Watch (Royal Highlanders) (42nd-73rd) 1st Bn	Sitapur
	<u>-</u>

Regiment Station

The Buffs (East Kent Regiment) (3rd) 1st Bn Kamptee

Welsh Regiment (41st-69th) 2nd Bn Bellary

Wiltshire Regiment (62nd-99th) 1st Bn Quetta

York and Lancaster Regiment (65th-84th) 2nd Bn Agra

Yorkshire Regiment (19th) 2nd Bn Peshawur

Regiment Station

Royal Horse Artillery

A Battery Umballa B Battery Lucknow C Battery Meerut Umballa D Battery F Battery Sealkote H Battery Meerut I Battery Allgarh Bangalore J Battery K Battery Rawul Pindee L Battery Kirkee S Battery Trimulgherry

Field Artillery

1st Battery Kirkee 3rd Battery Mean Meer 6th Battery Dinapore 11th Battery Ferozepore 12th Battery Jullundur 15th Battery Meerut 16th Battery Kirkee 21st Battery Bangalore 22nd Battery Mhow

23rd Battery Trimulgherry 24th Battery Agra 25th Battery Bangalore 27th Battery Nusseerabad 29th Battery Kirkee 30th Battery Fyzabad 31st Battery Hyderabad 32nd Battery Jhansi

33rd Battery St. Thomas Mount
34th Battery Ahmedabad
35th Battery Kurrachee

35th Battery Kurrachee
36th Battery Neemuch
40th Battery Ahmednugger
41st Battery Lucknow
42nd Battery Trimulgherry

45th Battery
46th Battery
Cawnpore
47th Battery
Mean Meer
48th Battery
Barrackpore
49th Battery
Belgaum
50th Battery
Jullundur

51st Battery Peshawur

52nd Battery Jubbulpore 53rd Battery Deesa 54th Battery Meerut 57th Battery Campbellpore 58th Battery Kamptee 60th Battery Allahabad 70th Battery Bareilly 71st Battery Mooltan 72nd Battery Bellary 80th Battery Jhansi

## Mountain Artillery

1st Battery Kyragully 2nd Battery Murree Hills Khyber Field Force 3rd Battery 5th Battery Baragully 6th Battery Mandalay 7th Battery Kalabagh 8th Battery Jutogh 9th Battery Darjeeling

## Garrison Artillery

Eastern Division

1st Company Calcutta 4th Company Kurrachee 9th Company Allahabad 13th Company Bombay 24th Company Delhi 26th Company Bombay

Southern Division

5th Company Agra Roorkee 6th Company 9th Company Roorkee 11th Company Roorkee 23rd Company Quetta 24th Company Campbellpore 28th Company Bombay 29th Company Barrackpore

33rd Company Rawul Pindee 34th Company Trincomalee 37th Company Ceylon

Western Division

4th Company Roorkee 5th Company Thebba

7th Company Trimulgherry Jhansi

9th Company

11th Company Fort St. George 18th Company Bombay

25th Company Quetta Royal Engineers

41st Company (Fortress)

HQ + Coy at Ceylon H Company Army Headquarters, India

Local Companies Abroad

Ceylon (Submarine) Trincomalee

The Army and Navy Gazette, Supplement, 1898

Copyright GFN 1994.