Chinese Forces Battle of Shanghai Late-September 1937

Central Forces: Chu Shao-liang Right Wing Forces: Chang Fa-kuei 8th Army Group: Chang Fa-kuei 28th Corps: Tao Kuang 42nd Division - Tao Kaung 63rd Division - Chen Kuang-chung Independent Formations: 55th Division - Li Sung-shan 45th Separate Brigade - Chang Luan-chi 2nd Regiment, 2nd Artillery Brigade Artillery Battlaion, Training Division 10th Army Group: 11th Reserve Division - Hu Ta 128th Division - Ku Chia-chi 45th Division - Tai Min-chuan 52nd Division - Lu Hsin-jung 11th Temporary Brigade - Chou Hsi-ching 12th Temporary Brigade - Li Kuo-chun 13th Separate Brigade - Chen Teh-fa Guards Regiment Ningpo Defense Command: Wang Kao-lan Central Forces: Chu Shao-liang 9th Army Troup: Chu Shao-liang 72nd Corps: Yuan-liang 37th Division Sun Yuan-liang Peace Preservation Group 1st Regiment, 20th Separate Brigade 78th Corps: Sung Hsi-lien 36th Division - Sung Hsi-lien 71st Corps: Wang Ching-chiu 87th Division - Wang Ching-chiu 8th Corps: Huang Chieh 61st Division - Chung Sung Salt Gabelle Division - Huang Chieh Independent Forces 3rd Division - Li Yu-tang 18th Division - Chu Yao-hua 1st Battalion, 3rd Regiment, 2nd Artillery Brigade Shanghai Garrison - Yang Hu 21st Army Group: Liao Lei 1st Corps: Hu Tsung-nan 1st Division - Li Tieh-chun 32nd Division - Wang Hsiu-shen 78th Division - Li Wen 48th Corps: Wei Yung-sung 173rd Division - Huo Wei-chen 174th Division - Wang Tsan-pin 176th Division - Ou Shou-nien

Independent Formations 171st Division - Yang Chun-chang 19th Division - Li Chueh 16th Peng Sung-ling Left Wing: Chen Cheng 19th Army Group: Hsueh Yueh 6th Corps: Yeh Chao 195th Division - Tan Sui 160th Division - Yeh Chao 75th Corps: Chou Ai 6th Division - Chou Ai 2nd Corps: Li Yen-nien 9th Division - Li Yen-nien 25th Corps: Wan Yao-huang 13th Division - Wan Yao-huang 20th Corps: Yang Sen 133rd Division - Yang Han-yu 134th Division - Yang Han-chung 59th Corps: Yuan Chao-chang 57th Division - Yuan Chao-chang 15th Army Group: Lo Cho-yin 16th Army: Lo Cho-ying 18th Corps: Lo Cho-ying 60th Division - Chen Pei 11th Division - Peng Shan 67th Division - Huang Wei 54th Corps: Huo Kuei-chang 14th Division - Chen Lieh 98th Division - Hsia Chu-chung 74th Corps: Yu Chi-shih 51st Division - Wang Yao-wu 58th Division - Yu Chi-shih 39th Corps: Liu Ho-ting 34th Separate Brigade - Lo Chi-chiang 56th Division - Liu Shang-chih 4th Corps: Wu Chi-wei 90th Division - Ou Chen 73rd Corps: Wang Tung-yuan 15th Division - Wang Chih-pin 15th Army: Liu Hsing 102nd Division - Po Hui-chang 103rd Division - Ho Chih-chung 53rd Division - li Yun-heng 23rd Division - Li Pi-fan Division - Chang En-tuo Division - Huo Shou-yi 57th Corps: Miao Cheng-liu 111th Division - Chang En-tuo 112th Division - Huo Shou-yi Independent Formations: 44th Division - Chen Yung 16th Artillery Regiment

River Defense Forces: Liu Hsing
Chiangyur Fortress - Hsu Kang

```
Chenchiang Fortress - Lin Hsien-yang
               2nd Regiment, Kiangsu Peace Preservation Force
               1st Battlaion, 8th Artillery Regiment
          11th Army: Shang-kuan Yunhsiang
               40th Division - Liu Pei-hsu
               33rd Division - Ma Hsing-hsien
          12th Army: Chang Fang
               76th Division - Wang Ling-yun
          43rd Corps: Kuo Ju-tung
               26th Division - Liu Yu-ching
          Independent Forces:
               1st Battlaion, 3rd Artillery Regiment
               4th Artillery Regiment
               1st Battalion, 10th Artillery Regiment
Capital Garrison Forces: Tang Sheng-chih
          72nd Corps: Sun Yuan-liang
               88th Division -
          78th Corps: Sung Hsi-lien
               36th Division -
          74th Corps: Yu Chi-shi8h
               51st Division -
               58th Division -
          64th Corps: Yeh Chao
               159th Division -
               160th Division -
          71st Corps: Wang Ching-chiu
               87th Division -
          2nd Army: Hsu Yuan Chuan
               83rd Corps:
                    41st Division -
                    48th Division -
                    155th Division -
                    156th Division -
                    103rd Division -
                    121st Division - Wy Chien-ping Training
                    Military Police Units (about 2 regiments)
23rd Army Group: Liu Hsiang
               144th Division - Kuo Hsun-chi
               145th Division -
               146th Division -
               147th Division -
               148th Division -
```

Long-husen, H., & Ming-Kai, C., $\underline{\text{History of the Sino-Japanese}}$ $\underline{\text{War}}$ (1937-1945), Chung Wu Publishing Co., Taipei

Copyright GFN 1992