## Chinese Forces Battle of Wuhan Early-July 1938

9th War Area: Chen Cheng 1st Army Corps: Hsueh Yueh 20th Army Group: Shang Chen 32nd Corps: Shang Chen 139th Division - Li Chao-ying 141st Division - Tang Yung-liang 142nd Division - Fu Li-ping Salt Gabell Brigade - Chiang Yung-ke 18th Corps: Huang Wei 11th Division - Peng Shan 16th Division - Ho Ping 60th Division - Chen Pei 9th Army Group: Wu Chi-wei 4th Corps: Ou Chen 59th Division - Chang Teh-neng 90th Division - Chen Yung-chi 8th Corps: Li Yu-tang 3rd Division - Chao Hsi-tien 15th Division - Wang Chih-pin 66th Corps: Yeh Chao 159th Division - Tan Sui 160th Division - Hua Chen-chung 29th Army: Wang Ching-chiu 64th Corps: Wang Ching-chiu 155th Division - Chen Kung-hsia 187th Division - Kung Ke-chuan 9th Reserve Division - Chang Yen-chuan 70th Corps: Li Chueh 19th Division - Li Chueh Independent Divisions: 91st Division - Feng Chan-hai 6th Reserve Division - Chi Chang-chien 37th Army: Wang Ching-chiu 25th Corps: Wang Ching-chiu 52nd Division - Tang Yun-shan 109th Division - Liang Hua-sheng Independent Corps 74th Corps: Yu Chi-shih 51st Division - Wang Yao-wu 58th Division - Feng Sheng-fa 29th Corps: Chen An-pao 40th Division - Li Tien-hsia 79th Division - Chen An-pao Independent Divisions: 16th Division - Chao Hsia-kuang Po Yang Lake Garrison 2nd Army Corps: Chang Fa-kuei 30th Army Group: Wang Ling-chi 72nd Corps: Wang Ling-chi New 13th Division - Liu Juo-pi

New 14th Division - Fan Nan-hsuan 78th Corps: New 15th Division - Teng Kuo-chang New 16th Division - Chen Liang-chi 3rd Army Group: Sun Tung-Hsuan 12th Corps: Sun Tung-Hsuan 20th Division - Chang Tse-min 22nd Division - Shih Tung-jan 81st Division - Chan Shu-tang 31st Army Group: Tang En-po 13th Corps: Chang Chen 23rd Division - Ouyang Fen 89th Division - Chang Hsueh-chung 35th Division - Wang Ching-tsai 98th Corps: Chang Kang 82nd Division - Lo Chi-chiang 193rd Division - Li Tsung-chien 195th Division - Liang Kai 32nd Army: Kuan Lin-cheng 52nd Corps: Kuan Lin-cheng 2nd Division - Chao Kung-wu 25th Division - Chang Yao-ming 92nd Corps: Li Hsien-chou 21st Division - Hou Ching-ju 95th Division - Lo Chi <u>Tienpei Fortress, 11th Army: Li Yen-nien 2nd Corps: Li Yen-nien</u> 9th Division - Cheng Tso-min 57th Division - Shih Chung-cheng Tienchiachen Fortress Units Tiennan Fortress: Huo Kuei-chang 54th Corps: Huo Kuei-chang 14th Division - Chen Lieh 18th Division - Li Fang-pin Wuhan Garrison: Lo Cho-ying Yangtze River North Region: Wan Yao-huang 6th Corps: Kan Li-chu 93rd Division - Kan Li-chu 16th Corps: Tung Chao 28th Division - Tung Chao Yangtze River South Region: Chou Ai 75th Corps: Chou Ai 6th Division - Chang Ying 13th Division - Fang ching Huang Ngo Fortress Units Wuhan Garrison: Kuo Chang 94th Corps: Kuo Chang 55th Division - Li Chi-lan

185th Division - Fang Tien 37th Corps: Huang Kuo-liang 92nd Division - Huang Kuo-liang

26th Army: Wan Fu-lin

53rd Corps: Wan Fu-lin 130th Division - Chu Hung-hsun 116th Division - Chou Fu-cheng

30th Army: Lu Han 60th Corps: Lu Han 184th Division - Chang Chung 49th Division - Li Ching-yi 102nd Division - Po Hui-chang 5th War Area: Li Tsung-jen (Pai Chung-hsi acting) 3rd Army Corps: Sun Lien-chung 2nd Army Group Sun Lien-chung 30th Corps: Tien Chen-nan 30th Division - Chang Chin-lieh 31st Division - Chih Feng-cheng 42nd Corps: Feng An-pang 27th Division - Huang Chiao-sung 44th Separate Brigade - Wu Peng-chu Independent Corps: 26th Corps: Hsiao Chi-chu 32nd Division - Wang Hsiu-shen 44th Division - Chen Yung 55th Corps: Tsao Fu-lin 29th Division - Tsao Fu-lin 74th Division - Li Han-chang 87th Corps: Liu Yin-ku 198th Division - Wang Yu-ying 4th Army Corps: Li Pin-Hsien 29th Army Group: Wang Tsan-hau 44th Corps: Peng Cheng-fu 149th Division - Wang Tse-chun 162nd Division - Chang Chieh-cheng 67th Corps: Hsu Shao-tsung 150th Division - Liao Chen 161st Division - Hsu Shao-tsung 11th Army Group: Li Pin-hsien 84th Corps: Chin Lien-fang 188th Division - Liu Jen 189th Division - Lin Ya-hsi 48th Corps: Chang Yi-shun 173rd Division - Huo Weichen 174th Division - Chang Kuang-Wei 176th Division - Ou Shou-nien Independent Corps: Liu Ju-ming 68th Corps: Liu Ju-ming 119th Division - Li Chin-tien 143rd Division - Li Tseng-chih 86th Corps: Ho Chih-chung 103rd Division - Ho Shao-chou 121st Division - Mo Ting-fang 26th Army Group: Hsu Yuan-chuan 10th Corps: Hsu Yuan-chuan 41st Division - Ting Chih-pan 48th Division - Hsu Chi-wu

Independent:

199th Division - Lo Shu-chia

```
21st Army Group: Liao Lei
          31st Corps: Wei Yun-sung
               131st Division - Lin Tse-hsi
               135th Division - Su Tsu-hsing
               138th Division - Mo Teh-hung
          7th Corps: Chang Kan
               171st Division - Chi Tao-cheng
               172nd Division - Cheng Shu-fen
19th Army: Feng Chih-an
          77th Corps: Feng Chih-an
               37th Division - Chang Ling-yun
               132nd Division - Yang Chang-hai
27th Army: Chang Tse-chung
          59th Corps: Chang Tse-chung
               Cavalry Regiment
               38th Division - Huang Wei-kang
               180th Division - Liu Cheng-san
               13th Cavarly Brigade - Yao Ching-chuan
24th Army Group: Han Teh-chin
          57th Corps: Miao Cheng-liu
               111th Division - Chang En-tuo
112th Division - Huo Shou-yi
          89th Corps: Han Teh-chin
               33rd Division - Chia Yun-shan
               117th Division - Li Shou-wei
27th Army Group: Yang Sen
          20th Corps: Yang Sen
               133rd Division - Yang Han-yu
               134th Division - Yang Han-chung
17th
      Army Group: Hu Tsung-nan
          1st Corps: Hu Tsung-nan
               1st Division - Li Cheng-hsien
               78th Division - Li Wen
Independent Corps:
          51st Corps: Yu Hsueh-chung
               113th Division - Chou Kuang-lieh
               114th Division - Mo Chung-heng
          71st Corps: Sung Hsi-lien
               61st Division - Chung Sung
               88th Division - Chung Pin
               36th Division - Chiang Fu-sheng
          45th Corps: Chen Ting-hsun
               125th Division - Wang Shih-chun
               127th Division - Chen Li
```

Long-husen, H., & Ming-Kai, C., <u>History of the Sino-Japanese War (1937-1945)</u>, Chung Wu Publishing Co., Taipei

Copyright GFN 1992