Organization of Italian Parachute Divisions 1942

185th "Folgore" Parachute Division

186th Parachute Regiment Headquarters Detachment 5th Parachute Battalion 13th Parachute Company 14th Parachute Company 15th Parachute Company 6th Parachute Battaloin 16th Parachute Company 17th Parachute Company 18th Parachute Company Independent Mortar Company 2 Platoons 186th AT Company 2 Platoons (8-47mm/32 guns) 187th Parachute Regiment 2nd Parachute Battalion 2 Parachute Companies 4th Parachute Battaloin 12th Parachute Company 13th Parachute Company 14th Parachute Company 9th Parachute Battalion 3 Parachute Companies Independent Mortar Company 2 Platoons 187th AT Company 2 Platoons (8-47mm/32 guns) Raggruppamento Ruspoli 7th Parachute Battaloin 19th Parachute Company 20th Parachute Company 21st Parachute Company 188th AT Company 2 Platoons (4-47 mm/32 quns)Independent Mortar Company 2 Platoons 8th Parachute Demolition Engineer Battalion 22nd Parachute Engineer Company 24th Parachute Engineer Company

185th Motorized Artillery Regiment

1st Battalion (8-47mm/32 guns)¹ 2nd Battalion (8-47mm/32 guns) 3rd Battalion (8-47mm/32 guns) 4th Battalion (8-47mm/32 guns) 5th Battalion (8-47mm/32 guns)

Folgore was formed in late 1940 for the attack on Malta. A second, the 184th "Nembo" was formed in late 1942 and a third, "Ciclone" was forming as Italy surrendered.

Green, J., Mare Nostrum, The War in the Mediterranean

Copyright GFN 1992

¹ The 47mm gun was air droppable.